Showing Collections: 201 - 225 of 278
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 R58
Scope and Contents
Includes a couple of originals, copies prepared in the 18th century as well as typed transcripts of letters, 1782, of the Comte de Rochambeau concerning a variety of topics: seizures of blacks belonging to state of Virginia; reenforcements for French troops and acknowledgment of thanks of Williamsburg, Va. for French aid; a letter, 6 Sept, 1789, written while Rochambeau was commander of garrison at Strasbourg, France and dealing with riots (original and typed transcript); photostats of...
Dates:
1781-1789
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1998.58
Scope and Contents
Papers of J. Randolph Ruffin. Newspaper clippings, brochures, drafts of speeches, correspondence about Virginia history, the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation, and tours directed by J. Randolph Ruffin, Director of Special Events for the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation.
Accessions 1998.58 and 1999.22
WHRA.
Dates:
1956-1993
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.351
Scope and Contents
The papers of S.F. Bill Royall, Jr. contain a variety of personal material and ephemera, much of it related to Williamsburg, Virginia. The collection includes samples of printing from Bill Royall's press relating to Williamsburg organizations and events such as tags, calendars, posters, programs, stickers, flyers, bulletins and other items.
Dates:
1883-1979
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ap4-MsV Ap5
Scope and Contents
Contain oystering accounts; farm accounts for "Porto Bella," York County, Virginia and "New Hope," [?]; cash accounts of Williamsburg, Virginia; list of ages and prices of slaves; records of physician's visits to family and slaves; remedy for colic; and memorandum of a purchase of land from College of William and Mary in October 1847.
Dates:
1826-1861
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2006.039, 2007.100, 2021.047
Scope and Contents
Consists of materials related to the
Sanborn Insurance Atlas of Williamsburg (Rare Book-Double Folio G 1294 .W5 G495), which had beeen originally accessioned as 2006.039 before being transfered to the Rare Book collection.
Acc. 2007.100 consists of 2 DVDs with images from the Atlas (located in the Mss. Audio-Visual Collection.)
Acc. 2021.047 consists of 9 color reprodctions depicting maps dated June, 1960 in mapcase 55 drawer 13.
Dates:
1930-circa 2007; Majority of material found within 1930-1960
Collection
Identifier: SC 00570
Scope and Contents
Letter from Johnson Sands to Lyman B. Wharton about the Powder Magazine in Williamsburg, Virginia. January 9, 1892.
Dates:
1892 January 9
Collection
Identifier: MS 00270
Scope and Contents
This collection consists of 66 letters written by Robert Saunders of Williamsburg, Virginia to his wife Lucy Burwell Saunders (60 letters) and his daughters Lucy Page Saunders (three letters) and Roberta P. Saunders (two2 letters) from 1829-1867. There is also a letter written on May 4, 1847 to Overton Bernard, the father of College of William and Mary student Jesse Talbot Bernard.
Dates:
1829-1867
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1992.38 and additions
Scope and Contents
This collection consists of correspondence, clippings, photographs, programs, playbooks and other material collected by William and Mary Theatre professor Howard Scammon. The bulk of the material is correspondence between Scammon and his former students, but the papers also include documentation related to the William and Mary Theatre, The Common Glory, the Jamestown Festival of 1957, other Williamsburg theatre groups and famous William and Mary alumni such as Glenn Close and Linda Lavin. ...
Dates:
1917-1994; Majority of material found in 1940-1970
Collection
Identifier: SC 00050
Scope and Contents
Broadside for a school bond election to be held on Oct. 19, 1920 regarding a new school on the Palace Green. It notes that this is the first election since women's suffrage.
Dates:
1920 Oct. 19
Collection
Identifier: MS 00361
Scope and Contents
Correspondence and papers of Frank Shatz of Lake Placid, New York and Williamsburg, Virginia, 1965-2009. Subject matter of the collection is foreign policy, the Lake Placid Council on Foreign Policy, public funding for libraries and public television and radio, the endowment of the Reves Center for International Studies at the College of William and Mary and more. Includes Frank Shatz's World Focus columns from the Virginia Gazette.Cassette tapes in all the accessions have been...
Dates:
1965-2014
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV R9
Scope and Contents
Recipe book, ca. 1820-1900, of Harriet P. Sheldon, Williamsburg [Va.] and Mary B. Curtis, Wilson's Creek, Gloucester County, Va. which includes loose papers and newspaper clippings. The volume includes home remedies and a list of household items. The first portion of the book contains recipe of Williamsburg's women.
Dates:
circa 1820-1900
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 Sh4
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1826-1857, (including accounts and memorandum books) of various mercantile firms with which Jacob D. Sheldon was associated in Williamsburg, Virginia, such as Jacob Sheldon & Co.; Cole & Sheldon; Sheldon & Maupin; Peachy & Sheldon; Thomas G. Peachy & Co.; and W. W. Webb & Co. Also includes papers of Jacob C. Sheldon and of Roscow Cole. The collection includes accounts with professors and students and staff at William & Mary; with Eastern State Hospital;...
Dates:
1826-1857
Collection
Identifier: SC 00695
Scope and Contents
Glenna Shiflett's papers concerning the Twentieth-Century Gallery (This Century Gallery) of Williamsburg, her teaching career in public schools and tax and other documents for property on Richmond Road in Williamsburg, Virginia owned by her and her husband, Thomas Shiflett.
Dates:
1961-1993
Collection
Identifier: SC 01145
Scope and Contents
Records, circa 1980s, of the Armistead-Timberlake Camp of the Sons of Confederate Veterans. Includes the group's constitution and bylaws, membership reports, and certificates awarded to members of the camp. There are also application cards, which include the name of the applicant and the name of his ancestor who served during the Civil War.
Dates:
circa 1980s
Collection
Identifier: MS 00199
Scope and Contents
Minutes, yearbooks, photographs, printed matter and organizational files, 1969-2017 of the Williamsburg Chapter of the Virginia Society of the Sons of the American Revolution. Includes 5 CDs of digital files.
Dates:
1969-2013; Majority of material found in 1980-2000
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 So8
Scope and Contents
Papers of the Southall family of Williamsburg, Va. including correspondence, 1828-1830, of Peyton Alexander Southall but mostly comprised of the legal correspondence, 1831-1851, of George Washington Southall and documents concerning lawsuits and civil proceedings in many Virginia counties and including account books, 1832-1846, of George Washington Southall. Prominent correspondents include Lemuel Jackson Bowden, Richard Coke, John Augustine Deneufville, Thomas Roderick Dew, George Frederick...
Dates:
1807-1904
Collection
Identifier: UA 6.084
Scope and Contents
The collection includes two copies of a script for a radio address, "The Gold Problem," given by Southworth on March 5, 1940. It also includes two typed letters sent from Southworth and his wife to his mother.The first letter, dated April 14, 1940, discusses his mother's tenant and also the filming of the movie "The Howards of Virginia," which filmed at Colonial Williamsburg. He mentions that the movie's stars didn't film but did appear for publicity. He tried to be a part of...
Dates:
1940
Collection
Identifier: SC 01461
Scope and Contents
Letter, dated March 26, 1765, written by Stephen Hawtrey of London to his brother Edward. At the time the letter was written, Edward was still in Exeter, England, though recently named Master of the Grammar School at William & Mary. Stephen tells Edward about his conversation with William Small, then in London, about the conditions at William & Mary and in Virginia. The letter details what Edward needs to take with him on his voyage, what clothes are appropriate for the Virginia...
Dates:
1765 March 26
Collection
Identifier: SC 00581
Scope and Contents
Letter by Gervas Storrs, Williamsburg, Virginia to John Mason Ellis about his romantic life and influenza. November 15, 1790.
Dates:
1790 November 15
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1989.37A
Scope and Contents
Material about and by Mayor Henry Stryker and Colonial Williamsburg hostess Fannie Stryker including reminiscences of Mrs. Stryker, photographic album on Mayor Stryker's retirement, scrapbook, 1957, of Jamestown Festival and visit of Queen Elizabeth. Mss. Acc. 1989.37a
Dates:
1916-1977
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame C1
Scope and Contents
Daily charge book, 1923-1925, of T. F. Rogers, clothing store merchant, of Williamsburg, Va.
Dates:
1923-1925
Collection
Identifier: MS 00001
Scope and Contents
Consists of correspondence, printed matter, monographs, ephemera, photographs, and photo negatives relating to Virginia history, with an emphasis on Jamestown. There is also material related to the Matthew Whaley School in Williamsburg, Virginia, and material relating to Taylor's involvement in the Sons of the American Revolution and the Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities. Includes materials related to Lady Astor, Queen Elizabeth's 1957 visit to Jamestown, and...
Dates:
1868-2007; Majority of material found in 1939-2000
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2002.15
Scope and Contents
The records of This Century Art Gallery include office, financial, and personal files from various board members and officers, board minutes, printed material such as promotional material and newsletters, artist and exhibit information, inventory notebooks, daily logs, and loose papers. Because Roger Sherman had made notes on many of the papers he gathered to help him write the history of the Gallery, they have been left together, but filed within the categories used for the rest...
Dates:
1958-2009
Collection
Identifier: UA 376
Scope and Contents
Original and photostats of a plot of land surveyed by Robert Beverley in June 1678, showing the land sold by Secretary [Thomas] Ludwell to Col. Thomas Ballard. This land was subsequently sold by Ballard to the College of William & Mary. This plat is the earliest record of campus lands.
Dates:
1678 June
Collection
Identifier: SC 00668
Scope and Contents
Manuscript affidavit of Dr. H. Clinton Thomson, MD, on the conditions of Eastern Lunatic Asylum (the present day Easter State Hospital) in Williamsburg, Virginia dated March 3, 1866. The affidavit describes the patients and the buildings when Thomson arrived in 1862 to take charge of the hospital. He indicated patients were in need of food and clothing, the sewage system of the buildings had been confiscated for the war, and bedding and other items used when the "rebels" were in...
Dates:
1866 March 3; Majority of material found in 1866
